• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • Lahti World Cup March 2015 - Team announcement and Synopsis of selection process

      March 3, 2015

      The following athletes are selected to the Lahti, Finland World Cup March 7-8 (Sprint F and 10/15km C)

      Alex Harvey CNEPH – NST
      Ivan Babikov NST
      Len Valjas NST
      Emily Nishikawa AWCA-NST
      Graeme Killick AWCA-NST
      Jess Cockney AWCA-NST
      Michael Somppi Lappe Nordic – AWCA - NST
      Andrea Dupont RMR
      Kevin Sandau Foothills Nordic – AWCA – NST
      Heidi Widmer AWCA - NST
      Cendrine Browne Fondeurs Laurentides – CNEPH - NST
      Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt Fondeurs Laurentides - RMR
      Dahria Beatty Whitehorse – AWCA - NST


      1. Purpose for non-WCT athletes: Provide WC starts for Canada’s top ranked athletes, based on 2014-15 WSC, World Cup and FIS Euro Tour results, in order to meet established FIS and CCC international benchmarks.
      2. Objectives for WCT athletes: Podium and top 12 results.
      3. Objectives for non WCT athletes:
        1. For +U23 athletes to score WC points;
        2. For U23 athletes to finish in the top half of the field.
      4. Team Size:  This was dependent on Canada’s WC quota, the purpose and objectives of the criterion, selection ranking, FIS standards and budget limitations.



      The following athletes are selected to this trip in accordance with 11.6 of the Selection Criteria and consideration of 11.5, which outlines that selections will be made in the following order of priorities based on the recommendations of the NST Head Coach, in collaboration with the other WCT coaches and the B-Tour trip leader, to the HPD:

      1. World Cup Team athletes. Alex Harvey, Ivan Babikov, Len Valjas (Devon Kershaw declined due to health factors)
      2. The top 2 Male and 2 Female NorAm FIS Regional Series leaders from FIS WC period 3 (up to Feb-23, 2014). Emily Nishikawa, Andrea Dupont, Michael Somppi, (Patrick Stewart-Jones – declined)
      3. The 3rd ranked Male and Female athletes in the FIS NorAm COC Series if they were selected to the B-Tour. Heidi Widmer, Kevin Sandau
      4. Any non-WC Team athletes with a top 30 placing in individual events at the 2015 World Senior Championships. Athletes will be ranked according to their best WSC placing. Graeme Killick (Perianne Jones declined)
      5. Any non-WC Team athletes with a top 30 WC placing in individual events in 2014-15 World Cups. Athletes will be ranked according to best WC placing. Jess Cockney
      6. Athletes on the B-Tour and non-WCT athletes selected to the WSC based on their relative results at these respective events and the objectives of the trip. Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt, Cendrine Browne, Dahria Beatty