• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • Haywood RACE Report: Rosie Frankowski and John Hegman win the Haywood Eastern Canadian Championships 10 and 15k skate races

      February 4, 2018

      The Haywood RACE Report is powered by Haywood Securities Inc. - proud sponsor of the Canadian Cross Country National Ski Team

      In collaboration with:


      Supporting Canadian cross-country ski athlete and coach development
      from grassroots to podium success

      Haywood-small.jpg club-combo.JPG

      It was another cool, sunny day at the Nakkertok Ski Centre in Cantley, as the “The Cyclery” Race Day began with the men’s 15k skate races. The American racers have come out in force at the competitions, which double as part of the “SuperTour”, the U.S. National Race Series.

      Photo credit for all photos, Rob Smith.


      John Hegman of Sun Valley, Idaho had a 10 second victory over APU’s David Norris in the Open Men’s competition. Vail, Colorado’s Tad Elliot was 3rd, and Jack Carlyle of Soo Finnish, was the top Canadian in 4th, just 3 seconds from the podium.

      John Hegman leads Jack Carlyle through the stadium

      The 2nd and 3rd Canadians were Scott Hill of BarrieXC in 9th and Evan Palmer-Charette of Lappe in 11th.


      Michael Somppi

      The Cyclery tent in the sponsor village.

      The women skied a 10k skate race. U.S. Olympian Rosie Frankowski of APU dominated the event with a 37 second margin of victory over her APU teammate Becca Rorabaugh, yesterday’s sprint race winner. SMS T2 skier Erika Flowers was 3rd and Frédérique Vézina of Mont Ste. Anne 4th.

      Fondeur Laurentide's Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt was 6th and Nakkertok's
      Zoë Williams 9th , the 2nd and 3rd Canadians. Frankowski will have a large lead going in Sunday's classic segment.

       Frédérique Vézina

      Olivia Bouffard-Nesbitt

      The junior women’s race saw a repeat victory for Lappe’s Hannah Shields, with Marianne Scherrer of Skibec and Nakkertok’s Tove Halvorsen in 3rd.  Shields will start tomorrow's pursuit race with a 15 second advantage.

      The junior men’s winner was Francis Izquierdo-Bernier from Fondeur Laurentides, with Noah Thompson of Big Thunder just 4 seconds behind. Lappe's Levis Nadlersmith was 3rd.

      The Para-Nordic Nationals are also part of the event and National Team member Sebastien Fortier of Ski Bec won the men’s sitski competition with Cindy Ouellet of Mont Ste. Anne the women’s champ. The standing class races were won by Andy Lin of Vancouver Racers and Julie Mayer of Laurentian.

      Audio Interview with Robin McKeever, Para-Nordic Head Coach

      Podium Pictures

      Men's sitski podium

      Women's standing Para podium

      Women's podium

      Men's Podium

      Sunday features pursuit start, classic races, beginning at 09:00. With a fairly significant snowfall expected, the time advantage of the leaders may be less significant.

      Follow the race circuits and National Ski Teams on the CCC website, TwitterFacebookInstagram.