• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
    • Final Results for 2014 Haywood NorAm Western Canadian Cross-Country Ski Championships

      18 février 2014


      Sunday February 16, 2014

      Final Results for
      2014 Haywood NorAm Western Canadian
      Cross-Country Ski Championships

      Prince George, BC – Another great day with ideal conditions at the Otway Nordic Center where the final Western Canadian Championship races were held today.  The race format was Free Technique with  mass start.

      BC won the Swix Fischer Trophy amassing 6450 total points over the three days of competitions, well ahead of Alberta with 4779 points.  Ontario came back to regain third spot with 722 points, while Manitoba came in fourth with 692 points followed closely by fifth place Northwest Territories with 689 points.  Saskatchewan had 384 and Quebec gained 274 points.   The full break down of points is provided in the attachment.  The Aggregate Totals are based on points earned by the top 5 skiers from each province/territory among the top 30 finishers in each category.  BC lead from start to finish and was especially strong among the younger development level categories.

      Russell Kennedy of the Canmore Nordic club in Alberta took first place in the Open Men 20 Km race in a time of 53:23.5 edging out Quebec’s Ezekiel Williams by just 0.7 of a second. Williams  crossed the line in second in a time of 53:24.1.  Third place went to David Palmer of Rossland’s Black Jack Nordic Club who finished in a time of 53:27.6.

      Once again, Rocky Mountain Racers’ Maya Macisaac-Jones took to the podium at the Westerns in first spot, finishing the Open Women’s 15 Km race in 50:34.7.  , Jacqui Benson of the local Caledonia Nordic Ski Club came in second, just 1:21 minutes after the leader finishing in a time of 51:34.7.  Edmonton Nordic’s Ember Large took third place in a time of 53:21.5.

      The Junior Boys 10 Km was won by Gabriel Price from Smither’s Bulkley Valley Ski Club in a time of 28:22.5.  From Salmon Arm BC, John Connor of the Larch Hills Ski Club crossed in second place with a time of 28:44.8 ahead of third place winner David Walker from Kelowna’s Telemark Club who finished in 28:52.0.

      Lauren Doak from the Whistler Nordic Club won first place in the Junior Girls 7.5 Km race in a time of 25:10.0, just 2 seconds ahead of Kathleen Woods from the Bulkley Valley Ski Club who crossed second in a time of 25:12.0.  Third place went to Lauren Turcot of the Canmore Nordic Club finishing in 25:22.7.  Local racers Erika Kreitz finished 12th in a time of 26:47.4 while Pippa Roots finished 16th in a time of 27:11.6.

      Chang-I Lin crossed the finish line of the 5 km Para Nordic category in 28:21.9.  Ethan Hess, from Pemberton’s Spud Valley Ski Club, finished his Para Nordic Sit-Ski 5km race in a time of 27:01.3.

      Molly Miller from Kimberly won first place in the Juvenile Girls 7.5 Km race in 25:08.3, followed by Hannah Mehain from the Sovereign Lake Club in a time of 25:11.8.  Third place went to our local Caledonia Club’s Kaia Andal who crossed in a time of 25:20.8.

      The Juvenile Boys 10 Km race was won by Canmore Nordic’s Ty Godfrey in a time of 29:28.5 over Levi Nadlersmith of Manitoba’s Downtown Nordic Club who finished in a time of 29:41.0.  Third place went to Andrew Nash of the Larch Hills Nordic Club.  Three local racers from the Caledonia Nordic  Ski Club competing in the Juvenile Boys category were Bobby Kreitz finishing 19th, Logan Sherba in 23rd spot and Kristian Jensen-Leblanc crossing in 26th place.

      Hanneli Ladyman from BC’s Overlander Ski Club crossed the finish line in 13:15.5 winning the 3.75 Km Midget Girls race.  Second place went to Hollyburn’s Maxine Forder at a time of 13:29.1 and Abby Elgert of Alberta’s Athabasca Nordic Club took third place crossing in 13:43.9.  Local Caledonia Ski Club racers Sadie Bialuski, Danika Fiala and Mackenzie Connon finished 7th, 8th and 9th respectively.

      The Midget Boys 3.75 Km race was won by Remi Drolet of the Black Jack Club in a time of 11:16.2, while second place went to Donny Boake from Yellowknife with a time of 11:59.4.  Third place went to Nicolas Bennett, also from Yellowknife, with a time of 12:34.0.  Caledonia Nordic’s Liam Connon placed 8th and Bhavish Parshotam placed 10th.

      The Masters Women 7.5 Km race was won by our local racer Jacqui Pettersen in a time of 27:13.5 with second place going to Nechako Club’s Wanda Nemethy who finished in 35:31.9.  The Masters Men 10 Km race was won by John Hagen in a time of 34:39.5 followed by Scott Forrest in a time of 36:41.5.

      Complete results can be found at: http://zone4.ca/results.asp?ID=6502&cat=all

      “The quality of facilities and trails now available at Otway as a result of volunteer efforts and investment by public and private supporters over the past 3 years is second to none in Canada and would make many World Cup sites envious, commented Dave Dyer, Race Director for Cross Country Canada the sanctioning body in Canada for the sport.  The Nordic athletes at the 2015 Canada Winter Games are sure to have a tremendous experience next season.”

      The Caledonia Nordic Ski Club hosted this major ski competition at Otway, which was sanctioned by the International Ski Federation (FIS is the world’s highest ski-sanctioning body), and recognized as an official test event in preparation for the 2015 Canada Winter Games.

      We wish to thank all of our sponsors and volunteers for making this such a great event.

      A Media Kit with additional information is available at: http://caledonianordic.com/races-results/teck-regional-cup-march-2-2013/media-kit   

      For more information, please contact:

      Cal Benson, Chief of Competition                            Dan Adamson, Assistant Coordinator



      Download Attached File