• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
  • 2.3 Para-Nordic Committee Terms of Reference

    Document 2.3                                                                                                   Approved September 2011


    1.      Introduction.  In accordance with Section 47 of the Cross Country Canada (“CCC”) bylaws (the “Bylaws”), the Executive Director, with the approval of the Board of Directors of CCC, hereby forms a Para-Nordic Committee (the “Committee”) as an operational committee of CCC.

    2.      Purpose.  The Para-Nordic Committee is formed to support the Assistant Director of High Performance Para-Nordic (the “ADHPP”) and Coach and Athlete Development (“CAD”) leaders in the development and delivery of programs designed to achieve international excellence in Para-Nordic skiing.  The work of the Para-Nordic Committee will be fully aligned with the goals of Cross Country Canada as identified from time to time in Cross Country Canada’s Strategic Plan.

    3.      Accountability.  The Committee will be directed by the ADHPP and will provide advice and operational support to the ADHPP.  The Para-Nordic Committee is ultimately accountable to the Executive Director of CCC.

    4.      Mandate.  Guided by the ADHPP, the Committee will contribute expertise, human resource capacity, and regional perspectives to the development and successful operation of CCC Para-Nordic programs.  In general, this will involve:

    a.   assisting in the development of strategic (i.e.: long-term) direction and plans for CCC`s Para-Nordic programs with the goal of providing sustainable achievement of podium performance in international competition;

    b.   fulfilling objectives and tasks identified in the annual Para-Nordic Operational Plan;

    c.   contributing to an annual program evaluation to confirm that objectives are being met and are achieving the desired results;

    d.   facilitating communication, cooperation and coordination between the different levels (i.e.: CCC National, divisions and clubs) and components of Para-Nordic programs;

    e.   as required, recruiting and organizing volunteers to assist in the development and implementation of Para-Nordic programs;

    f.    providing events related advice and assistance to other operational committees of CCC as required; and

    g.   delivering guidance and help related to other aspects of Para-Nordic programs in Canada wherever and whenever possible. 

    The High Performance Committee and the CAD Committee mandates will also affect the direction of Para-Nordic planning and programming and the Committee will work to support the decisions and directions from other CCC committees as applicable to Para-Nordic programs.

    5.     Membership

    a.   The Committee shall be composed of, when reasonably possible:

    1)     the ADHPP;

    2)     an athlete representative;

    3)     the Executive Director (ex-officio);

    4)     a member of the Board (ex-officio), if one is appointed by the President;

    5)     staff persons who may be assigned by the Executive Director to support the activities of the Para-Nordic Committee (ex-officio);

    6)     such other members as the Executive Director in consultation with the Committee Chairperson may determine are beneficial to the function of the Committee; and

    7)     representatives from any of the five (5) Regions (Atlantic; Quebec and Nunavut; Ontario; Manitoba and Saskatchewan and Alberta and NWT; British Columbia and Yukon) that wish to participate on the Committee if such Regions are not already represented by members identified in this list.

    b.   Those committee members referred to in Subsections 5.a)6) – 5.a)7) hereof shall be appointed by the Executive Director.  When a Region is not represented, the Division Chairpersons of that Region may recommend a candidate or candidates to the Executive Director and the Committee Chairperson. The Executive Director, in consultation with the Committee Chairperson, shall determine whether a recommended candidate will facilitate the advancement of the purposes, goals and objectives of the Committee.  If, in the discretion of the Executive Director, a suitable candidate is not recommended to represent a region, the Committee may continue to function until a suitable representative is recommended and appointed.

    c.   The athlete representative shall be appointed by the Athlete Director in consultation with the Committee Chair and the Division Chairpersons of the Region with which the athlete is associated.

    d.   The term of a Committee member appointment is two (2) years and is renewable.

    6.     Committee Chairperson

    a.     The Chairperson of the Committee shall be appointed by the CCC Board on the recommendation of the Executive Director.  The Chairperson may be any member of the Committee.

    b.    The Chairperson is responsible for:

    1)     providing leadership to the Committee (i.e.: convening meetings; developing agendas; assigning, supervising and coordinating the Committee work); and

    2)     representing the Committee in communication.

    c.     The Committee Chairperson shall attend Management Committee meetings and the CCC Annual General Meeting with the ADHPP.  

    7.      Decision-Making.  The Committee shall endeavour to make decisions by consensus.  In case of disagreement, committee members shall cast votes.  The Committee Chairperson shall cast a vote in the case of a tie vote among the other Committee Members.

    8.        Meetings.  The Committee shall determine a meeting schedule that will facilitate achievement of the Committee’s work plan, which shall include at least four meetings per year.  Directors and Committee Chairpersons of other CCC programs will be invited to attend meeting that may have implications for their program areas or where there advice is indicated.  Committee meetings may be in person or by any other means that facilitates communication of all attending Committee Members simultaneously.  Minutes that reflect all significant decisions of the Committee shall be kept at all regular meetings.  Minutes shall be provided to the Executive Director.