• Alex 50km Lahti Champion
  • Related News Articles

      CCC Awards 2016

      June 21, 2016

      Congratulations to this year’s award winners! Thanks to all for their outstanding support of cross-country skiing over many years.

      The 2016 CCC Awards were announced at the Annual General Meeting Banquet in Canmore, AB, on June 18th, 2016.

      Firth Award
      Presented to a woman who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution to cross-country skiing in Canada. Established in 1985 to honour Sharon and Shirley Firth.
      2016 Winner: Jillian Stamp, Telemark Nordic, Kelowna, BC

      Carolyn Cavaliere (right) & Jillian Stamp (left) accepting her award

      Dave Rees Award
      Awarded to a man or woman who has made a long-term, outstanding commitment to the sport of cross-country skiing in Canada at all levels (local, regional and national) and in any of the many ways in which volunteers or professionals give of themselves to our sport. This award was created in 1989 in recognition of the outstanding contribution by Dave Rees to cross country skiing in Canada.
      2016 Winner: Jim McCarthy, Nakkertok Nordic, Ottawa, ON

      Jim McCarthy (centre) with sons Ed and Tom

      Volunteer of the Year Award
      Presented to a man or woman to recognize significant achievement in the regional or national development of cross-country skiing in Canada.
      2016 Winner: Jake Weaver, Hollyburn Cross Country Ski Club, North Vancouver, BC
      Jake Weaver (centre) with family

      Media of the Year
      Awarded to an individual, a newspaper publisher, television station or scribe in social media who has effectively highlighted and portrayed athletes in our sport, and or our sport in a positive and exciting manner, continuously throughout the year or at one significant event (e.g., National Championships, Olympic Games).
      2016 Winner: Tom Patrick, Yukon News

      Maya MacIsaac-Jones and Graeme Killick accepting on behalf of Tom Patrick

      Sponsor of the Year
      Awarded to a sponsor or supplier who goes beyond the scope of their sponsorship agreement with CCC by making a significant commitment and support to the sport and to the National Ski Teams.

      2016 Winner: Mackenzie Investments    

      Jon Makowski (left) accepting on behalf of Mackenzie with presenters Maya MacIsaac-Jones and Graeme Killick